Jump At the Sun!


“Sometimes I feel discriminated against, but it doesn’t make me angry. It merely astonishes me. How can any deny themselves the pleasure of my company? It’s beyond me.” — Zora Neale Hurston

Zora Neale Hurstons spirit was just too much to contain!  As I attended the 6th Annual Re-Defining African American Conference Laying the Groundwork: Du Bois, Dunham, Hurston and Schomburg – Trailblazing the Investigation of the African Diasporan Aesthetic, I had no idea what I was in for.  I was fortunate to attend this annual conference that is held at the Schomburg Center in Harlem.  A showing of Jump at the Sun, seemed to capture the audience and help remind me  just why it is that one falls in love with Zora Neale Hurston. (You can currently watch Jump At The Sun at California Newreel for Free!)

Following the showing,  there was a panal discussion by three academics that centered on Du Bois, Dunham, Hurston and Schomburg.   Arthur Schomburg was in grade school when, one of his teachers claimed that blacks had no history, heroes or accomplishments. Inspired to prove the teacher wrong, Schomburg determined that he would find and document the accomplishments of Africans on their own continent and in the diaspora. Want to know a bit more about Schomburg? Check out the Schomburg Center!

Black History Month might be winding down for many. I am fortunate to know that there are places that I can visit anytime in the year that documents and share the experiences of Black people from the diaspora.

So, if you are in New York City here are a few places that you might want to check out!

1. The Schomburg Center 515 Malcolm X Boulevard
New York,  NY 10037-1801  (212) 491-2200

2.  Caribbean Cultural Center African Diaspora Institute (CCCADI)          408 West 58th Street, New York, NY 10019 (212) 307-7420

3. The Museum of Contemporary African Diasporan Arts (MoCADA)       80 Hanson Place Brooklyn NY 11217  (718) 230 0492

BTW: People are asking for the Travelling Womanists to each sign our posts. My signature is Erzulie! My blogmate signs Reflectionary!

Thanks for the support and keep sharing the blog- Erzulie!

~ by travelling womanists on February 22, 2011.

One Response to “Jump At the Sun!”

  1. Goed gedoen en keep it up! Ek het gedink van die begin van ‘n WordPress blog ook. Weet jy enige plekke waar hulle jou leer hoe?

Leave a comment