New York, I HELLA LOVE U!


Show me Some LOVE

It’s officially been 3 years since I moved to NYC and drove cross-country with one of my best friends, Ms. Danielle LaTrece Robinson. It seems like forever ago that we both decided to take a chance and move to the opposite coast (california love) to follow our dreams of being happy and successful black women.  Over the years, I have learned so much about myself.  I have learned even more about my friends.  Its kind of funny that I learned all this from a place that is packed full of new people and places to meet, understand and love.  It was in this that I learned so much about my old friends that are scattered all over the country.

More importantly, I learned about what I love about this city.  I learned that New York may be a large and wonderful city full of diversity and beautiful things but it is also one of the loneliest places on earth.  You move through the city meeting people while the idea of developing deep meaningful relationships is so difficult.  I’ve come to realize that its one of those funny things.  While there are so many people to meet, people are often looking for the next best thing or overwhelmed by all of the stimuli that there are to take in.  While I recognize this, I also realized something else.  New York, I love you!!  It’s funny cause as a WEST COAST girl, I should never admit this out loud.  This might signal some type of disloyalty to the place and people who made me who I am.  Well I think it is part of me.  It is part of the many aspects of my personality.  As I begin to recognize this, I thought it might be a good time to just show some love for a city that I will always have a special place for in my heart.  New York, I love you and as a result I thought it might be a good idea to provide all of you with a short list of the things that I have grown to love as an infant new yorker.  Who knows how much longer, I will be here?  Who knows how long I will remain loyal to my love affair with the city?  For now, I celebrate the moment and the memories that I have as a Travelling Womanist in New York City.  So here it goes.

I HELLA LOVE….

Bedford Stuyvesant.

The Bronx.

Harlem.

Dancing (there is no dancing like dancing in NYC to AMAZING DeeJays).

Walking too far to my apartment.

Carrying 50 pounds of laundry 6 blocks (plus up 6 flights of stairs) to wash clothing while picking up groceries and loving it cause it is all a work out and justifies living in the city.

Paying for services that should be free.

Brunch.

Disgruntled non-profit workers.

Lefty graduates from New England Liberal Art Schools that love Brooklyn.

Brooklyn.

West Indians.

Cupcakes.

Letting people self identify.

People that are passionate and obsessed with the details of any and everything.

The plausibility that you can be geeky and very knowledgable about any little thing and find someone to discuss it with you.

The idea of planning an entire day around going grocery shopping with someone who has a car.

Paying a man with a van to move.

Free summer concerts.

Happy hour that is always too early to make because you are working.

Talking to friends as you walk from one destination to another (5 minute phone friendships).

Tasting food.

Roommates.

Justifying the ridiculous.

Exploring the possibilities…

I hope you like my little list.  Feel free to let us know what you love about New York as a Travelling Womanists.

New York, I HELLA love you!!

Peace B. Still,

ReFlectionary!!!

~ by travelling womanists on April 16, 2011.

8 Responses to “New York, I HELLA LOVE U!”

  1. I love that most “New Yorkers” are from somewhere else…so luckily one day they’ll go away….Just a joke from a disgruntled, cupcake loving, making poetry out of cussing, complaining as an art form, natty, NATIVE New Yorker…Bronx baby!

    • Thanks for the feedback. I do love that about New York. There is also something very endearing about the rude lovingness that native New Yorkers show visitors like me that stick around for a little bit…

  2. I love the fact that I can walk down the street and pass at least 4-5 different ethnicities. I also love the energy the NY has

    • there is something nice about being surrounded by the human experience. NYC definitely lends itself to being a part of the human experience and celebrating the similarities between all of us. when you actually interact with people from so many different places you find an amazing oneness that connects the human condition. thanks for sharing your thoughts!!

  3. So many true points in this post. I think that transplants being a different flavor to the city and slowly but surely the take the title of New Yorkers so comfortably. The post highlighted on so many points that make NYC so great in the spring and summer time.

  4. I look for womanist blogs to comment on and found yours. I wanted to comment but your blogs are so personal. This one I can do. I live in a small town in Germany right now, but I used to live in the dirty downtown part of Kansas City. I think the thing I miss most about it is the loneliness and the sense of possibility. In a gritty worn down city, you feel like with 5 grand and dream you could own the world. Start a business, buy an abandoned home, buy a car, help a church, save a life maybe. You’re alone, but your alone with possibility. In a small town or a suburb, everything is stiched up. So many doors are closed. Everyone knowning you is just the other side of everyone saying “You can’t. You won’t. Who are you to change things?” Nobody is aching the way they do in a big city. Nobody wants you to shake things up. The advantage to disappearing in the crowd is the freedom to do whatever you want. Honestly, I miss the loneliness the most.

    • Hello ThePioneer. Thanks so much for your comment. I have a mix of emotions in response to your comment about the “dirty downtown” and the signs of gentrification for communities that are in and out of transition. While i think your points are well taken, I do not agree with all of them. I think that many communities have hidden beauty that needs to be identified and celebrated. We place a lot of value statements on good and bad communities and then use this to stigmatize and take advantage of a community for the benefit of others. We all need to work together to identify the ugly and the beautiful and figure out how we can uplift these things or celebrate these things together without those that are usually though in these communities also benefiting from the changes that are occurring (meaning they are not forced out). I think you should read our piece about exploring the gentrification in dc. Here is the link http://travellingwomanists.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/there-is-something-about-d-c/ there are a couple of links that I think you will find very interesting.

      On another note. I do sometimes miss the loneliness of being in places but right now I seem to be celebrating the hustle and bustle of travel. Cheers and thanks so much for your comments!! Please let us know what you think about the piece “There is Something About DC”

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 383 other followers

