My Love Affair with Roma


 Today we bring you a love story from our guest blogger for this week, Sharonda Williams.  As a lover of RuPauls Drag Race and all things Italian, Sharonda agreed to share her wonderful experience of living in italy for a month of her life.  Her blog provides inspiration to those looking for adventure, fun and a little bit of themselves while experiencing the world as a travelling womanists.  Thanks Sharonda.  Enjoy, ReFlectionary!

una storia d'amore inizia


I didn’t think it was possible to love another city the way I love New York City.  I was born and raised in New York City, but Roma is where I found myself again.  After being out of work for over a year I had had enough and I needed to get out of New York City. While I was unemployed I took Italian classes in the West Village.  I had always wanted to learn Italian and now I had the time.  I would come home from class and try to practice with my Mom who would give me a blank stare and remind me that she didn’t speak Italian.
I also realized that in the past couple of years I had lost a sense of myself.  When I was eighteen years old I traveled on a bus to the Woodstock Festival by myself and shared a tent with two Irish guys and a hippie from Daytona.  As the years went on I lost that side of myself and spent less and less time with me.  It was time for an adventure and Roma was the perfect place to have it.  I booked my flight and planned to live and learn Italian in Roma for a month.
I spent three weeks in Roma and one week in Sorrento, Capri, Amalfi and Positano.  I lived in an apartment with an Italian host in Roma. I went to school 5 days a week and had classes in the morning and the afternoon.  Scuola Leonardo Da Vinci had students from all over the world!  My best friends in my classes were from France, Russia, Turkey and Switzerland.  We discovered Roma together walking the streets and speaking Italian to each other.  We found some of the best places to eat and enjoyed learning about the history of Italy.  There were some days where I traveled on my own and I loved those days as much as the ones I spent with my friends.  I went grocery shopping, walked around the Vatican and rediscovered the love of spending time with me.  I hadn’t lost it after all.
Roma reminded me so much of my first love New York City.  There was an energy within the city and the people that was amazing.  In New York City you could get run over by a taxi, in Roma if you weren’t paying attention a VESPA would take you out!  I will always have fond memories of Roma because it is the city that brought me back to life. Dopo New York City la mia favorita citta e Roma.  AMO ROMA!!
~ by travelling womanists on April 27, 2011.

2 Responses to “My Love Affair with Roma”

  1. big like! – thanks .

  2. [...] and her next great adventure.  Her previous blog posts include “Whip Your Hair” and “My Love Affair with Roma”  Hope you enjoy hearing about her adventures in the wonderful Central American Country of Costa [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 364 other followers

