Portrait of W(m)E


<3 me is easy cause Im BEAUTIFUL

 

While watching Living Single last night I began to think about some thangs (yes, thangs).  My thoughts and ideas for this blog keep swirling around in my head and the sad part is, I couldn’t really think about one thing that I wanted to write about.  Enter Maxine Shaw Attorney at Law.  As I watched the scene with the four main characters, I thought:

1. I wonder what character I am most like on this show?

2. I understand the plot and shorelines so much better now that I am Living Single in Brooklyn

Anywho, there was something that Maxine Shaw, Attorney at Law said that was profound to me.  She was responding to an “apology” from Khadija for her behavior that came in a not so traditional package.  Kkadija began to explain why she was disrespectful to her friends and why they should understand her patter of behavior.  She went on and on and on about how she viewed herself in the world and was used to supporting in many ways the “image of the super strong black woman.”  Maxine’s response as usual was quick-witted and layered with meaning (yes, meaning).

That is your self-portrait honey, ain’t nobody patting that picture but you.

I know that there are many reasons why this little line in a 30 minute sitcom spoke to me.  It had many implications for my life and the life of the people that surround me.  In many ways it is at the core of why I see this blog as being important.  The picture that we paint for ourselves is important in two ways. First it represents how we see ourselves in the world.  Second, it represents a piece of what others see.

The control, packaging and distribution of stories that represent the diverse experiences of traveling brown women in many ways is in our control  The control, packaging and distribution of OUR stories in many ways is under attack.  The control, packaging and distribution of OUR stories in many ways is not under our control.  Our stories are OURS and we must control, package and distribute them to allow the next generation to paint a wonderful fully liberated SELF PORTRAIT of themselves.

In essence it always amazes me the mask or self-portrait that we paint and many times believe in.  In this year of commitment I know that I am sure that I will paint an accurate and evolutionary self-portrait.  I will continue to share my stories, our stories (when we get guest bloggers) and commit to loving myself in order for me to love others.  Because to me everyday is a day to celebrate authenticity and to celebrate WE.  Happy International Women’s Day!! Happy Black History Month!! Happy (you fill in the blank)!  And most of all…

 

 

Happy MuffK&&&N* Friday!!!

Peace B. Still,

ReFlecktionary!!!

 

Portrait of WE

~ by travelling womanists on March 9, 2012.

6 Responses to “Portrait of W(m)E”

  1. Always count on the wise words of Maxine Shaw Attorney at Law – Woo Woo Woo

  2. Love love love. We are living.. heyyyyy single. In a 2012 kind of world, I’m glad I have my girls! Living Single teaches me that your friends are always there for you.

  3. I loved this post! I loved the show when I first moved to the US and couldn’t get enough of the television. Somehow, even back then 16 years ago, she struck me as someone I’d like to be when I grew up. Witty, smart, funny, sexy. I like what you did with just that one single phrase. I admire and root for you during this year of commitment for both of us. Blessings!

    • Thanks so much for your encouragement and basically summing up everything I felt in a short succinct comment. Its always nice to hear how sitcoms impact folks with a variety of lived experience. Happy Monday!! Thanks for the comment!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

