Quit Your Job and Reconnect!


It was that easy. As I was typing my resignation letter, my fingers were shaking and my heart was beating out of excitement. I walked up the dilapidated building that I had never quite grown accustomed to, I went to my boss. I told him, “X, here is my resignation letter!” Yes, I was really happy and he, of course wanted to know details which I was vague about.  Only two weeks left in the joint, was all I could think about as my time winded down and I left cray cray social services (non profit) world. 

I had a few days off before starting my new gig and it was wonderful. Initially, we thought we were going to Maine for a few days. Then we decided why not chill and do a few day trips! Best idea ever. 

New York City is amazing during the summer time. But, as I person that got bogged down in my nine to five, I had a chance to appreciate why I love my New York. Yes, even I own a piece of this city and it was nice to rent a car (via hotwire only 20 bucks a day) and get out! 

Check out the Cloisters! Gardens, medieval art and an amazing view of the city await you in this secluded museum that are located in Northern Manhattan. The architecture and history of these pieces are very interested especially when you think about its current location and purpose. I would recommend just walking through the park and ditching the bus that takes you directly there. 

ImageImageImage

The next day we got in our car and headed to Rockefeller State Park. I have lived in New York for the majority of my life, but leae it up to my dear friend and former running buddy (who is training for an ultra marathon, I know, crazy) to lead me to a place that would make anyone want to become a trail runner. This park is about twenty minutes from the city (took us about an hour total from Brooklyn). A vehicle fee of six dollars is well worth it, considering birdwatching, hiking, horseback riding and so much more take place up here.  Not only is this a beautiful place that reenergizes you and helps you fall in nature, it is also pet friendly! Our dog was pooped after the hike, yippee for us! 

Image

 

Oh, where else did we go… read more tomorrow. Thanks for reading, Erzulie!

~ by travelling womanists on July 25, 2012.

One Response to “Quit Your Job and Reconnect!”

  1. Awww, Wendell … what a cutie.

    Re: Quitting ur job << Hear hear!! Who reeeeeaaally wants a "job" anyway? People want to work, but we don't want "jobs". We don't want to be wrapped up in solving other people's BS problems all day, and at the end of the day feel like we've accomplished absolutely nothing useful or fulfilling. Getting away for a little while really gives you perspective on this. Everyone should take a break now and then and do some day trips like this. It's really rewarding.

    Also, here's an interesting article on having a job. Worth a read.
    http://www.rushkoff.com/blog/2011/9/7/cnncom-are-jobs-obsolete.html

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 364 other followers

