Random Acts of Kindness


It is Monday and hopefully you got a chance to recharge over the weekend. A few weeks ago, Rosetta Thurman, founder of the Happy Black Woman community wrote about how we could die today. Since my inbox can be a mess at times, I found it particularly interesting to read because Esther Alix also sent me this article. As I read the article, I started to think about random acts of kindness. As I was making more room in my home last night, I was going through my picture box and I came across a photo and never realized my friends had written on the back of it. I turned over the photo and read her kinds words (which was written about 10 to 12 years ago) and called her.

Living in New York City, people tell me how hard the city can be and the need to leave to remember that people are kind and loving. As a native New Yorker, I am slightly offended by that observation. But, I had to thank about it longer. I went into the city and on the train observed at least five acts of kindness (and I have a short commute to work).  As I was preparing to exit the train station an elderly man was carrying his luggage and maybe the most unlikely person to help out was a young man, wearing the baggy pants, fitted hat and listening to music just a tad too loud. But, even he stopped to just help out. Only an exchange between men was needed and they made their way up the stairs and out onto the streets of the city.

As I thought about my mortality I thought about one of the kindest people who I know, my brother. For all the ups and down that comes with having a younger brother that wants to be my “older” brother this guy has a good heart. He helps ladies on the block with their grocery bags. He despite running to make a train, helps the elderly lady that is having trouble purchasing a metrocard and misses his train, because “no prob, there will be another one”.  He also doesn’t have a problem helping people with directions especially in touristy places in New York.

I thought well if I can observe (and remember)  these random acts of kindness if I die today, I would just want to make sure that I was kind person. kindness has an impact on the way people live their lives and the way people interact with each other. So, today, I might die and if I die I just hope that I was kind today.

Yes he is kind and kinda crazy :)

Next generation of kind

Next generation of kind New Yorker’s

~ by travelling womanists on September 24, 2012.

One Response to “Random Acts of Kindness”

  1. Awww. Yeah, I always thought reputation for rude/mean New Yorkers was undeserved. I think it comes from tourists who think all NYrs are there to serve their goal of scooting around all day looking for things to awe them. But generally, NYCers are pretty nice to other NYCers.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

