An Icon Has Passed


The last few days I have been sick. The head cold and congestion that does not allow one to leave the house and gets nasty looks in public. Yesterday, I was feeling much better and decided to start getting my place for 2013 and took a facebook break. As I read articles, took a look at crazy photos I came across a post that said “an icon is gone” and I started to cry. Madame Deita died. Saturday, Mercedes Foucard Guignard, known to so many as  Deita, writer, storyteller, playwright, ethnographer, artist and  defender of Creole, passed away. I last saw Deita in October during my trip to Haiti. Maybe, it was just being by her side, but whenever I was close to her I was calm. She was fragile, tired and her contagious laugh was gone.  It was an honor to have conservations about Haiti  and life as a woman. I guess I never realized how much she helped me to articulate my purpose and for that I am eternally grateful.


~ by travelling womanists on December 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

