Back at it again: Themes and musings for a happy 2014


Image

2014 is here!!!

It has been way too long since I wrote a blog.  So much has happened and I often leave the blogging as the last thing on my “To Do” list.  The worst part about it not being a priority is that a day or two easily becomes 3 months.  In the interest of new beginnings and transitions, I am once again deciding to give blogging a go.  I realized that part of getting this blog thang happening is putting a structure in place to do it.  With that in mind, this post will be all about my plans for 2014.

For the past couple of years, I have used a theme and Happy Black Woman’s 31 Day Reset to turn my life right side up!!  Since, I started to add structure to the framework for achieving the realistic goals I set for myself, I have really been able to change my stank eye ratio from 80 percent stank eye/20 percent not to 50 percent stank eye/50 percent not.  Believe me this is a great improvement.   And with that in mind, I give you my theme for 2014. 

FINDING MY VOICE! 

Now, for those of you that know me, this may seem kind of odd.  However, once I explain it in detail I think it will make a bit more sense.  My theme is in 2 parts.  The first part is around financial fitness/wellness/literacy.  Finding my financial voice means that I will spend this year with my new boo.  Who is my new boo?  My budget, checking account, savings account, home savings account and anything else that has to do with money or financial fitness.  I need and want to find balance in this area of my life.  The only way for me to do that is to become comfortable with money.  I need to be comfortable with talking about it, reading about it, saving it and sometimes not feeling like I need it.   I have a short list of goals like finally taking advantage of those free financial planning services that I have through my 403(b), taking a first time home buying course to see if my dream brownstone is actually possible without a sponsor and will play a lovely little game where I actually save the money that is in my savings account.   Of course, this didn’t happen over night.  It took some time for me to get my spending under control, cut down my debt (a little bit) and realize that I didn’t have to suffer to get control over my finances.  I am still not perfect but I am on my way to being balanced.  I am pretty excited about it. 

The second part of my theme is finding my voice through written and oral communication.  Of course, we all put on our resumes that we have excellent written and oral communication skills.  I believe that is true for some of us.  However most of us could use a bit of practice.  So that is what I plan to do.  I am excited to take on new writing assignments at work and have started a writing circle/group with a wonderful friend where we carve out at least 2 hours once a month to work on writing.  We are going to have a grammar lesson and time to just put it all out there on the virtual or real paper.  This group takes me back to my favorite course in the 5th and 6th grade when I had a teacher that required me to write whatever I wanted for at least an hour per day.  I may not have been the best writer but I was confident and engaged.  My mind went places and I need to find that place again.  The place where my skills and confidence meet to form something.  It may not be perfect but it is something that I am proud of.  In fact, this blog is my first step in that structure.  My hope is that I get at least 12 posts for the year.  

 So dear friends.  Yes, all 12 of you that read this blog.  What is your theme for 2014?  I cant wait to hear from you and look forward to the journey that is before us.  Just think, the Traveling Womanists doesn’t just have to go to a place far far away.  This Traveling Womanists is on multiple journeys.  This one just happens to be to a location that you cant find on a map. 

Image

~ by travelling womanists on January 11, 2014.

One Response to “Back at it again: Themes and musings for a happy 2014”

  1. Great idea for the year and life itself. Hope you and friends all find a path as was stated in star Trek by Spok, ” Live long and Prosper”.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

