Something Old and Something New


So I am sitting here thinking about the bits and pieces of travelling that I have done over the past couple of years.  As a result of the many discussions that Ive had with my blogmate about our thoughts and experiences, I recognized a number of things about the lens that I use to view the world.  It became evident to me that what was driving my interest in creating this blog is my obsession with perception.  Many of these thoughts began when I least expected it.  I was travelling with a friend of mine through Turkey and suddenly was met with a diversity of looks from many of the people that we passed.  These looks were not so subtle and made me a bit uncomfortable.   It was only after an observation on a boat cruise on the Mediterranean that I realized what made me feel so different:  actual and perceived racism.  That was the driving force behind my discomfort.  Luckily, I was with a wonderful family that provided me with a great experience.  More importantly, I realized that without the support of my dear friend, I would not have been able to arrive at the place where we are now: at the beginning of a wonderful journey to discover the many travel stories of African women from throughout the diaspora.  It is in this that I say hello to you all and look forward to sharing my past, present and future travel experiences.

~ by travelling womanists on February 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
