Random Wanderings through NOLA


So I set out for a recent work trip and was prepared to see a different place than I remember from my early teens.  The last time I had visited New Orleans, LA for a period of time longer than a day was when I was traveling with my family.  We took the trip as part of a summer vacation that included trips all over the state to visit all different parts of my extended family.  I had a certain anxiety around coming back to the city that I have read and heard so much about.  I wondered what I would feel and how I would react to a place so polarized by issues that are so close to my heart.  This would not only be my visit as a woman but my first visit with a new lens on power structures and environmental inequity.

~ by travelling womanists on March 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
