I am a Woman


Today, I realized that I am a WOMAN.
I think it started to happen a few years ago.
The choices and decisions that I was making were no longer small. It was not a vacation or where to live. The implications of certain decisions were heavy. I did not realize I was carrying any weight, until I stopped to look at my friends.

My friends are the cancer survivors, moms, VPs, and some are the ethereal butterflies that will never settle down.

I realized that yesterday morning, I was truly a women. No, not just an adult but a women. It hit me yesterday morning as my friend emailed me that she had discovered a lump in her breast. I took a second to reread what she wrote. I did not cry, but as I write this I am tearing up.  Tears of joy that we are women mixed with tears of anxiety and hope. I am certain that she will be well.  I guess I realized my friends, check their breasts. This does not make us old, but the way we see the world has changed.

My friends will still put their children to sleep at night, professionally excel, and want to enjoy all of their personal relationships. My friends still wonder and want so much more in their lives. I think that was always the point.

I am a woman.
I am a travelling womanist.

Girls and Women in Haiti

Mama Vesta in Haiti

~ by travelling womanists on April 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
