For Colored Gurls who have considered LIFE BeyoNd the BLOCK


PEACEofME

PEACEofME

a little something inspired by my travels from one meeting to another & a Choreopoem by Ntozake Shange

…and so it begins…

i usedta live in a world

where the rainbow was more than enuf

& possibilities were infinite

i usedta live in the world

then i moved to CHICAGO

& my universe was the North Side

i usedta live in the world

then i moved to the INLAND EMPIRE

& my universe was the desert
i usedta live in the world

then i moved to MONZE

& my universe was at peace
i usedta live in the world

then i moved to HARLEM

& my universe was six blocks
i usedta live in the world

then i moved to DA BOOGIE DOWN BRONX

& my universe was 10 blocks

I usedta live in the world

then i moved to BEDFORD-STUYVESANT

& my universe is now eight blocks
i usedta live in the world

then i grew up

& my universe began contracting

i usedta LIVE in ThE WORLD…

…and so it ends…

~ by travelling womanists on June 13, 2010.

One Response to “For Colored Gurls who have considered LIFE BeyoNd the BLOCK”

  1. The confining nature of various areas of the country is only understood by various groups…no all folks…enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

 
