Around the World in 20 Days (Random Tidbits)


World Cup Madness

COPA! COPA! World Cup madness has kept me incredibly busy. When the schedule first came out, I thought it might be possible to watch just about every match that would be of interest to me.  That was a multitasking disaster waiting to happen.  Somehow, I thought that I could make my way from The United States to South Africa, Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria, Côte d’Ivoire, Algeria, New Zealand, North and South Korea, and stop in Japan for a bit of sushi before enjoying King Brazil.

In my mind, Brazil is one of the “fertile crescents” of futbol. I cannot think of futbol and not think of Brazil. (Side Note: Did you watch the Brazil VS Côte d’Ivoire match? Who knew futbol had so many great actors? PLease check out the video link).  Brazil, has shaped the way I see and hear futbol, I hear futbol in Portuguese (and Spanish and Haitian Kreyol, of course). The strong intonations, seem to cover the fans anticipation of the world famous sound GGOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAALLLLLLLL.! We all know it, we have all heard it, somehow it sounds great in all languages. But, then again, in what language does joy and winning sound bad?

HIGHLIGHTS FROM THE BRAZIL VS COTE D’IVORIE GAME

Summer Time in This City

Certain days, you forget that you live in a city that has access to so many cultures. The Summer Stage series in Central Park, took me to West Africa and to Haiti. Tabou Combo, rocked out central park and gave me just what I was missing, Haiti.  One of the best things about going home, is that if you keep your eyes open, you see something that you did not before. I learned something new about Tabou Combo, the music was energetic, the drums and horns in tune, no instrument was in competition with each other but easily made room for each others arrival. The sun was hot, the air was so muggy, but people just kept on moving; it was hard not to dance.

Just a little Tabou. PLease enjoy.

~ by travelling womanists on June 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
