BootLegg Haikus for a Travelling Womanist


So recently I have found it very difficult for me to find the motivation to write abotu my travels.  I keep searching for some inspiration but find the I am overwhelmed by my thoughts, inaction, a small dash of procrastination and just plane foolery.  With this in mind I started to think about writing Haikus.  At first I thought it would be simple but quickly found out that was not the case. With that in mind I decided to create my own style of Haiku….Haikus for the Travelling Womanists, I guess.  So here they are.  I guess fortunately for you, Ive been feeling a little more motivated and plan to put up a couple of random things that I wrote while in class, on the train and in the midst of my current travels around the wonderful universe called New York City.

This first Haiku was inspired by a trip down memory lane.  I sat looking at an old old pic of myself that made me realize my complext personality has developed throughout the years in many ways.  However the way in which i convert my thoughts into facial expressions and body language is still the same.  I have “the look” that many recognize but most dont realize that I have had “the look” for years.    I call this Haiku “The Look.”

The Look

The Look

The Look

Cold Eyes
Empty Gaze
Disenchanged Phase

I used to talk to my friends a lot about my overwhelming desire to fall asleep whenever I needed to hear something important.  As I begin to learn more and more and more about self diagnosis, I recognized that I could diagnose what was happening to me.  No, it was not because I was not challenged by the professor.  No, it is not because I did not understand the material.  No, it is not because I didnt get enough sleep the night before.  Its because i have Learning Induced Narcolepsy…THANK YOU WEB MD!!

Self Diagnosis

Learning Induced Narcolepsy
Aint no Joke
When you Tryn to Stay Awake in Class


Transitions

Sunkissed Summer Skin
leaves
Dry Itchy Cold
Returns

~ by travelling womanists on September 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “BootLegg Haikus for a Travelling Womanist”

  1. Love it! Girl, stay off of WebMD 🙂

    • WebMD can save you and me. I should write a little story about a self diagnosis gone wrong wrong wrong that a friend once told me about. I really appreciate your enthusiasm abou tthe blog. When are you planning to submit? Obviously we ALL know that you have a lot to say say say!

Leave a Reply

 
