Patient Guidance: Meditations for INDOPU


I remember a place that has a huge part of my heart:  zambia…

sometimes i hear this place calling my name, pulling at my spirit and tugging at my soul.  this is the place where i was launched into my adulthood and for the first time in my life felt at peace with who i was and where i was in the world.  it was not only a peace that i felt within but i truly felt like i was meeting and exceeding the expectations that i had set for myself.

i felt…
loved.
whole.
free.
calm.
i felt me.

and most of all i felt all of those things that we often times neglect to acknowledge but so desperately rely on for fulfillment of our deepest desires.

i felt…
needed.
completed.
necessary.
helpful.
impactful.
like i was making a difference.

i often think back to the commitment that i made to myself halfway between 17 and 18 while attending a community meeting with my aunt.  at that point i recognized the need for translation of science for communities of color and low income.  i recognized that within all of this, i would need to become vulnerable and pass through a series of “tests” to complete my life journey which is still slowly edging toward its inevitable end.

well ok enough with the melodrama.  i write this blog in memory of a special person that allowed me to understand the importance of my role as an educator (im learning this is a piece of who i am).  and thank the student for providing the teacher with patient guidance.  now many of us have people that come and go within our lives.  some of them leave a lasting mark some of them do not.

INDOPU I REMEMBER YOU & will never FORGET.

he was the first student to understand the connections i made to environmental justice in the zambian context.  he was the last student to make me question my intelligence.  he was the first student that i lectured in front of the others and in the midst of my lecture made me think “dang ogonnaya, you sound like an old grouchy lecturer.”  he was the last student to remain questioning our tour guides during our long trips to visit factories to understand their impact on zambias amazing ecosystems.  he was the first to leave a lasting impression on me for the rest of my life.  it is in these times when i most question my journey that i think of INDOPU.

only a couple of months after returning from the trip that changed my life, i found out that INDOPU passed away due to complications related to malaria.  As I cried myself to sleep thinking of all the wonderful memories from a place so far far away, I recognized how blessed i was to meet INDOPU.

INDOPU i thank you for your influence in my journey as a travelling womanists.

Re-Flectionary!

~ by travelling womanists on September 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
