That Black Man in My Community.


I had to break the vicous cycle of being “afraid” of Black Men.  A bit of the blame game will go to the media, well a lot goes to the media.  A portion definitely  even goes to sterotyping when I was much younger.  Today, I learned once again, why I need to be in my neighborhood and why that Black man on the bus was not a random stranger, he crystallized an important lesson for me.

When I got on the bus it was quiet, Sunday afternoons can be that way. I  was rushing from working out and errands to get over to my favorite place to watch football.  Another man got on the bus, nothing special. He started to make noise. He went on a rant. All I could hear and see was “Black Noise.”   People on the bus started to get uncomfortable.  Childrens head were turned in the opposite direction, until  two passengers started to talk back to the man.   They listened to the “Black Noise.”

He walked in and found his wife cheating on him. It is what you see in the soap operas. This grown, big, Black man was crying on the bus.  This time I listened to the “Black Noise,” and it all made sense.  He wanted to kill that other man, he was confused, hurt and had no one to listen to him, expect for all of us on the bus. It happened slowly, women started crying, Bible verses were shouted and he was just crying.  This small women walked over and hugged him. Another man shook his hand.  I started to cry.

On my way back home, I realized that I did not ever have to be afraid of “Black Noise. ” Rather,  I had to challenge myself to listen. Listen to what that man was saying. You know, not turn up the mp3 player or get off a few stops earlier. I started to listen to him vent. He was having a therapy session and church intervention, right there on the bus. My community is a bit different. We have been told for so long, how to blame others and sometimes to just lean on the “victim” crutch.  Instead, my community took a bus ride with a man that needed someone to just tell him that it was okay.  My community is not the home of  victims, but some STRONG, DOPE ASS Individuals. It was okay that his world fell apart. He just had to know it was going to be okay.  Walking home, I knew both of us were going to be okay.

 

 

~ by travelling womanists on November 28, 2010.

One Response to “That Black Man in My Community.”

  1. Great post!
    Beijos do Kibe.

Leave a Reply

 
