What do you do with your SPARE time?


Tis the season? I see the signs and hear the annoying music. Stores, malls and just about everywhere where I am is prepared for Christmas. I must say Christmas is not my favorite holiday. Before you think that I am a grinch, please continue reading. Today, I am curious about what people really do in their spare time? The holidays and end of the year are usually a time to reflect.  For the past few weeks, I have been reflecting on how I use my time.  Am I a genuine and generous person? During this season, I try not to buy people gifts, I really want to show people how much they mean to me without going to a store or clicking “proceed to checkout. “

Tis the season? I thought it was the season to be with family, friends and to be thankful for all that you have and (possibly) all that you have done. A time to be grateful, to be in your situation and the place where you are right now. I think the season is not just about giving gift but maybe giving the selfless parts of your self. I recently remember what that felt like when I was reading to a man that was blind, but this feeling came over me again, when I was running with two young girls and my running buddy. It may not come wrapped up and have a bow, but our time here on earth is precious. I am so fortunate that so many people allow me into their world. That feeling and realization are humbling experiences.

As the end of the year comes to an end, I hope that my spare time was actually spent on others. I just want to share love and as a travelling womanist one of the best things that I possess is an open mind and heart. I am willing to share myself with this world, sometimes it is nice to know that this world does have people that are just as ready to embrace people like me.

How do you spend your SPARE time?

~ by travelling womanists on December 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
