Good Lovin’ for 2010 and 2011


Today is all about good lovin’

I will only give good lovin’ to the world and

I will only accept good lovin in return.

-Toby Thompkins

The end of the year is almost here and resolutions are forming and becoming semi permanent goals on paper. We are taking the time to reflect on the past year and what we want in the New Year. My only problem with this problem is that we tend to want to change things. There isn’t necessarily a problem with this process, I just do not see where you can put in love.  We want to drop 10 pounds but how exactly do I quantify that I want to love myself more?

I am currently reading The Real Lives of Strong Black Women: Transcending Myths, Reclaiming Joy by Tony Thompkins. One thing that I do enjoy about the book is the role that self-love plays in the entire process of how we view ourselves and what we actually should be putting out into the universe and what we should be getting in return.

As you write your resolutions, I urge you to ensure that you partake in the continuous  process of self love.  Just let go of the baggage and make room for the blessings and opportunities -I know, it is easier to say than to do!

A few years ago,  I thought I was on top of the world. I had so much on paper, but in reality, it was distorted and I was not honest with myself. It was in Peru, where I  dropped and left my baggage in a place where it could no longer hurt myself or the ones that I really cared about. In 2010, I loved and felt so much..Haiti, Haitian people, everything Haitian, friends, family, service and so many little things. Peru, allowed me to open my heart again. It was amazing.

I have no idea what 2011 holds. I have a few goals and lifestyle changes that I really want to hold on to and carry to 2011. One thing that I want to ensure that I carry is good loving for myself and everyone around me. I am a better women because I love myself and can affirm it.

I hope in 2011, I can look all around me and see love. I know it is possible. I am not going to try really hard, I am jut going to see random acts of love. I know I will find it all around.

 

 

 

 

~ by travelling womanists on December 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
