Family Time and Rice and Beans!


Family time, here we go again. One might think that for a small family get together, right? Except a bit of magic happened during this family get together and I wanted to visually share why I am so happy for the small trip that I took to Long Island, New York.

During our time together, I got “the nod”, the okay to (attempt to) continue my grandmothers rice and beans. Somehow, it all made sense that I should be the “one”.  I was so happy for a millisecond then all I could think was how would I be able to live up to my grandmothers favorite dish?

Well, for right now, I just have to perfect the recipe. I have a feeling that I am going to be cooking riz ak djon djon for a while, in an attempt to be like my grandmother.

 

Riz ak Djon Djon

Done! Black Rice and Beans

 

 

My favorite rice and beans

~ by travelling womanists on February 28, 2011.

One Response to “Family Time and Rice and Beans!”

  1. Wow, it looks really good. Must try when I’m next in town.

Leave a Reply

 
