Where are the Safe Spaces for Women?


Yesterday, as I was at the Children of God film in New York City, I quickly jotted a few notes. As I revisited my notes this morning and was listening to a few TED Talks, my mind quickly got me thinking about safe spaces. It seems very easy, a safe space, where people can grow and attain all that they want in life. After listening to a few women talk, I started to wonder where are my safe spaces at home and when I travel?  Today, I ask you to share your safe spaces with us. I have spaces where I am free for moments and hours. As I think about this longer a few hours is not enough now, I need a place where it is always safe.

If you live in New York City, I feel as though the attack on women or people of color starts as soon as I leave my door. Let me walk you through my day using public transportation. I get into the subway and hear people using the N word (some days I ask them to stop and some days they do and some days they just use the word even more in a louder tone), calling each other Bitches and I am not even at my half way to my destination.  If I transfer and wait for the next train and stare at the magazines, I only see half naked women telling me how to make my self thinner and sexier for the man of my dreams.  Then, back on the train. Ahhh, almost at my destination.  Ironically, I walk into a space and listen to women telling me how to be one of the women to try and run the world. Obviously, I am getting mixed messages and I am sure that I am not the only one.

So, take a look at the videos and please let us know where are the safe spaces for women?

According to Beyonce:

Hmmmm, but according to Andrea, something else is happening:

And according this TED talk by Sheryl Sandberg, the COO at Facebook, she lets us know that we still have a long way to go.

Share your safe spaces with us! Thank you ~ Erzuhlie

~ by travelling womanists on May 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
