Transitions and Love: A little thing can go a Loooooonnnnnnggg Way


Happy Tears; Pretty Wings

Authors Note: This post was written prior to my grandmother passing. She passed away on July 14, 2011.  I miss her lots but am happy that she has transitioned into a better place, space and time.  Ache!

It has come to my attention that my grandmother may be passing away soon.  Very soon.  I am not sure how I feel about this or what I should do moving forward but I am convinced that this year is the year for great change in my life.  I am 30 (hey pound getitgetit – for those of you that don’t know this is how I am working on verbalizing the twitterverse) and ready to appreciate being a woman.  Yeah, its funny cause I am slowly transitioning out of the stage of my life where im just excited to be an adult and really embracing it.  Its funny because while in California, I realized something kind of funny.  I was talking to my dad and he stopped while responding to me.  He just sat there and looked at me while we ate pho.  In this short amount of time he said something that at the time didn’t seem very poignant but is so meaningful to me now.

“You know what Ogonnaya?!  I just realized you have the face of a woman.”

Now during the intense conversation that my sister and I were having about some type of foolery, we (meaning me and my sister but me especially) didn’t give this much thought.  But now as I begin to officially accept that I am transitioning into another phase of my life, I have began to think about what it means for me to be a woman.  At this point in time, I don’t know much but what I do know is that I am committed to my happiness and well being.  I am also committed to rejecting the fuckery while not losing or forgetting about my sanity.  As I prepare to bury my last grandparent.  I will remember all that they taught me.  I will never forget them and will honor them as I move through the time I have left in this realm.

~ by travelling womanists on August 2, 2011.

2 Responses to “Transitions and Love: A little thing can go a Loooooonnnnnnggg Way”

  1. .lovely!.

Leave a Reply

 
