Thank you WordPress! I found and remade Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookies.


Saturday was hot. Yes, all of New York is hot right now. 90 degree weather seems to be trending all over the internet and somehow, I decided to bake chocolate chip cookies, as soon I heard that my god-daughter might be coming over. Like any good entertainer of children, I asked the parents for the okay with the sweets. I was in the middle of cleaning and thought ” hmm, why not burn in my kitchen while baking some treats” Where else would I find a good cookie recipe? WordPress of course! After reviewing a few recipes, I decided to use this as a base (thank you Doughmesstic).

My god-daughter did not come over, but based on my taste testers, I thought why not stick with this recipe but add a bit of my own touch.  As I was in the Trader Joe’s line the next day, I decided to pick up these little gems-Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Tahitian Vanilla Caramels.  I think that made all the difference. Try both recipes and let me know what you think!

 

Little balls of goodness!


                       A Lodz of Chocolate Smiles

  • 12  Tablespoons Browned Butter ( 8 tablespoons salted and 4 unsalted butter)
  • 1/3 cup Dark Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Light Brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup Sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla
  • 2 cups plus 2 Tablespoons All Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 9 ounces chopped chocolate bars (I mixed bakers chocolate and milk chocolate from Trader Joe’s)
  • 2 bags of Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Tahitian Vanilla Caramels
  • sea salt or fleur de sel for topping

Once butter is browned and slightly cooled, add butter to sugars and mix well.  Add the eggs and vanilla to the batter and mix thoroughly.  Combine all the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, then add to batter, beating only until combined.

Add chocolates to batter, then place mixing bowl in refrigerator for 15 minutes to cool a bit. Preheat oven to 325 while dough chills.

Place balls of dough on prepared cookie sheet, leaving tops quite jagged so that cookies get nice surfaces. Sprinkle with sea salt or fleur de sel. Bake for 15 minutes for best results.

Sorry folks, my camera was out of commission for the photos. However, props to photographer EF and  his trusty Android phone.

Chocolate Smiles!

 

Fresh Out the Oven.

 

 

 

~ by travelling womanists on August 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
