Why I Want to Read and Write Stories about Black Women


Why do I want to share OUR stories? I want the WORLD to know what it is like for Black, women that travel the world. Moreover, this week, I have been sent constant reminders that the work that my blogmate and I have is needed and other Black Women are having this conversation with their circles. I wanted to take a moment to share one of the inspiring notes that crossed my inbox this week.

The moment that I received the Black Feminist Twelve Point Plan, I knew this would spark a discussion and I could not agree more with point five!

5. We want media to reflect the diversity of who we are, to include our voices, value our bodies and our stories.

We believe that the media both mirrors and shapes society. Therefore there is a need to develop a critical eye towards our media consumption, as the media is a system that perpetuates oppression. We believe in a shared responsibility to consume, demand and create the messages and representations that truly reflect our humanity.

“We believe in a shared responsibility to consume, demand and CREATE the messages and representations that truly reflect our humanity”  I want The Chronicles of Travelling Womanists to be a place where Black Women who travel can share their experiences. Moreover, a place that is driven by US and written by US. I know it seems really simple, but after reading the Black Feminist Twelve Point Plan, I couldn’t help but think about bell hooks book, feminism is for everybody: passionate politics.  Feminism really is a win-win for everybody and Black Women sharing their viewpoints, stories and plan is a good thing for EVERYBODY!

 

~ by travelling womanists on September 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
