Guest Blog: Grenada, the Beautiful


Authors Note:  We would like to thank Ms. Yolande Cadore for being our guest blogger for this week.  Yolande is a native of Grenada.  Through her eyes we are able to get a descriptive view of how the world is changing from a unique and exciting perspective.  Please take your time and learn how it feels to see the impacts of our shrinking globe while going back to the place we all love, home. Enjoy! Peace B. Still.  ReFlectionary!!!

A Vision of Love

It didn’t take much time to come to the conclusion that Grenada is unequivocally one of the most breathtaking places on this earth. For those that may disagree, I am quite sure that there are a few thousand people out there who would agree to a duel to defend that claim. (And yes, there are only 90,000 of us)

Those of you close to me, can attest to the state of pure joy and excitement that engulfs my being, whenever, I am planning to visit Grenada. Last December, was no different.

With anticipation, I embraced the cold wintry days; what awaited me, as I escaped the hustle and bustle of the concrete jungle-New York City – sun, sand and laughter were priceless!   Christmas has become my favorite time of year to visit the isle of spice, for countless reasons. The spirit and essence of the “spice-ness” of the people just seem to be a tad bit sweeter at Christmastime. So, Christmas time has become a time of renewal, as well as a time to stockpile the warmth of the sun and the people in the repository of my soul and spirit. I usually amass enough “spice-ness” to carry me through the next year in the big apple.

Escape

Many things have changed or evolved from when I was a child. There is hardly any house to house caroling, the annual roof to yard cleaning appeared to have diminished in relevance and scope, and the anticipation of apples and grapes from America and Canada (a treat I salivated over hoping and praying that relatives would surprise me with on their return from “town”) seemed inconspicuous amidst the hustle and bustle.

sooo R.I.C.H

To this day, I still believe that the apples and grapes imported to the island are the best apples and grapes that I’ve ever tasted. I often say somewhat jokingly that it must be the pesticides. It is and was my mission to find apples and grapes that made me stop to think about many things that were unimaginable to me as a child – the role and impact of colonialism, globalization, cultural invasion, climate change and environmental sustainability. I couldn’t imagine that on an island with an overabundance of fruits and vegetables that imported apples and grapes linger in my memory.  Tracing the origins of that apple, led me on my own journey to unearth the socio-economic, environmental and moral dilemma that may put Grenada’s future at risk. While our days might be getting hotter, our future seems cloudy with uncertainty.

Although, I left more than a decade ago and I now call the Big Apple home; Grenada, will always be “home” in my heart. My fond memories of the food, the landscape, and the warmth of the people are images and experiences that I hope will last forever.  But I write and think about the Spice Isle with mix emotions. Technology has made my island more visible and accessible to the outside world, at a time when overconsumption in developed countries is threatening its very existence.

So, what can I do to ensure my beloved island doesn’t succumb to the impending environmental and socio –economic threats that could alter our way of life? First, I must recognize that continuing to promote tourism as a viable economic option means admonishing those visiting the island and those in the tourism industry to adhere to sustainability principles. Cruise ships should ditch dirty diesel for renewable, cleaner energy, tourists should be encouraged to minimize their carbon foot prints and local businesses should be encouraged to adopt and integrate sustainable practices into their daily business practice.

Ultimately, what I have is a growing wish list for the next time I’m home (which will be soon). I wish to see many more bicycles and a lot less cars, less plastics and more products made from renewable materials, more  thinking and conversations about the  continually shifting economy happening among our farmers, fishermen and market vendors. The men and women who are the most vulnerable to the effects of climate change, our government is way less dependent on China and more reliant on ourselves.  In the end, saving our island is about saving each other and our survival may require,  you, me, us working together to save ourselves and our planet.  You may call protectionalism or maybe Grenadian hubris… I simply call it love.

a lil SPICE-NESS

~ by travelling womanists on September 21, 2011.

3 Responses to “Guest Blog: Grenada, the Beautiful”

  1. That was a beautiful reflection and prescription about a small island paradise and how it can keep it’s rich heritage for the coming generations.

  2. Thank you, Mr. Newman for taking the time to read my post. I hope you will visit Grenada in the near future and get to experience the spice isle.

  3. Wow, that was really insightful and beautifully written! Grenada looks so lovely in the pics…Where’s my invite?!?

Leave a Reply

 
