Mama Wangari Muta Maathai You Will Be Missed.


Insomnia is not what you want to have the day before your first day at work. After the end of my time off Facebook, in respect for Troy Davis, another death was announced on Facebook. One of the most amazing and inspiring African leaders died today. Wangari Muta Maathai left the world, too early, after a long fight with cancer.

Wangari was a leader, a queen, a fearless spirit whose perseverance inspired the world. When she set out to take care of her community, the world finally noticed and she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. All she wanted to do was to take care of an issue that was plaguing her community.  I missed my opportunity to see this star. I selfishly thought, I will see her again when she comes back to the States or when I make my way back to East Africa.

The last few months have been reminders of how each morning is another day to fight for justice. To fight for those that have been persecuted, abused and for those spirits who leave us too early.

Wangari Muta Maathai, you came in peace, you touched this world and while you left us too early, we will not forget you.

Wangari Muta Maathai

Wangari Muta Maathai

To Wangari, I hope that you can understand why I thought of Freshly Ground, “Fire is Low”.  I hope that we do not just remember your name and work today, but when the fire is low.  The universe knows why you were sent for us and why you had to leave us.  ~Erzuhlie

~ by travelling womanists on September 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
