Still Proud to be an American?!


Authors Note:  I wrote this post a little while ago and find it an interesting piece of reflection on how I identify myself.  It seems timing to put these thoughts out there given my feelings about Troy Davis, Wangari Maathai, an ongoing economic crisis and the pursuit of justice that many of me and my friends are on while working in the non-profit world.  For some reason I feel like I am always questioning how proud I am to be an African born in America, a person of the African diaspora that identifies as being american or just plain ol’ African American.  This is a story of my trip to California and culturally to a wonderful world where cultural clash is the end and the beginning of fun and happiness.  Enjoy!!

 

Proud to be an American?  Yup, I said it.  This weekend (July 2011) I witnessed an amazing wedding and somehow realized that in a weird way America made it possible.  I attended a dear friends celebration of love and found that I was in amazement as we danced to Bollywood hits and did the dougie all under the southern California stars. Only in America would I be able to wear a sari, shavaar kamese and pajama and not look like a complete fool .  It always amazes me when I have nationalistic feelings.  Usually these surface when Im travelling abroad and some person begins to – what I perceive as an unfair critique – of the country that I call home.  Now granted I am a pan Africanist at heart and often like to make blanket statements about American culture myself, but those statements are based on my lived experience and facts, right?!  Anywho, at this wedding I began to really appreciate the melting pot that has occurred in american culture where people are open.  I am excited that I was able to celebrate and learn more about hindu weddings.  I also was way too excited to have another reason to wear a piece of fabric and not have my friends make fun of me for being a hippy.  All and all I just wanted to thank all my friends for making me proud to be an American.  I know it sounds cliché but without them expanding my lived experience I would find it hard to find reasons as to why I love living in this country so much.  With each day, I know that I have something that will make me proud of my national identity.  It is my friends aka extended family that make me oh so proud!! Thanks!!!

 

Peace B. Still,

 

ReFlectionary!!!

 

 

~ by travelling womanists on September 27, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
