Day 1 and 2 of the 21 Day Adventure Cleanse!


Yes, it is 2012 and what better way to ring in the New Year with another health resolution, right? Hold on, before you judge and think that I am trying to lose the extra “10 to 15” pounds, I am over that. Actually, that is one of the amazing that I learned from 2011. My body might not be on a magazine cover, but it got me through a few marathons, bike races and who knows what else for 2012.

Here is the back story. My blog mate and I were looking for black women who would be great to blog for us. Her good friend, discovered this amazing community called Happy Black Woman. I decided to give it a try, and one day she posted about Kris Carr and  Crazy Sexy Diet. So, here I am, at the beginning of 2012 wanting to detox and ramp up my health.

Day 1 and 2

So, for those of you that do not know, I love to eat.  I especially love to graze throughout the day.  As I began juicing celery, kale, romaine leaves, pears and a few other things, I sincerely was hoping for all of it to taste good. Secondly, I realized that  vegetables in liquid form are not really appetizing to me. Yet, when I drank the green goodness, I thought, I could get with this. Plus, I don’t have to worry about this food going bad.

It might not look awesome, but does taste great!

As the day went on, I realized that there were times that I was hungry. As I write this, I realize maybe I wasn’t hungry as much as thirsty. Another awesome thing that will come from this cleanse is sparking my taste buds again. As much as I love different foods, I have always given more strict vegan foods a thumbs down without giving them a fair try. I had some Thai “peanut” sauce veggies and thought, “ok, this is worth eating”.

Obstacle: Working at the J-O-B? Wrong! It was fine. I had a bit of juice in the morning and my afternoon lunch was so yummy! I also figured, if things got really tough for me in the day, I would make my way to the one restaurant nearby that serves juices.

Are you in? Let’s go down this road together. I figure we have nothing to lose and the days that we both are craving ice cream, frozen yogurt, chips, cheese, wine and ____(you fill in the blank), it is always good to have someone to have your back.

Support is nice. While, my partner has so graciously decided to be a buddy for me (hmm, I think that decision was very smart on his part) and I wanted to extend my support to you! Yeah, you. Were you thinking about health and wellness for this year? Well, let’s do it, together. ~ EF

I do love VEGGIES!

~ by travelling womanists on January 4, 2012.

2 Responses to “Day 1 and 2 of the 21 Day Adventure Cleanse!”

  1. VAGGIES FTW!

    I have to second that the green juice looks gross, but actually does taste quite good. Depending on your sweet tooth, I might recommend adding a little extra pear or broccoli stem than the recipe calls for (apparently, from an interview with Carr herself, the stem adds sweetness).

    Personally, I have a few weight loss and exercise goals for the year, including a bike century or a biathlon (bike + swim). So far, this cleanse has been a great way to kick off the year heading in the right direction. The books seems to have a lot of good tips, and it looks like Carr has really done some good research. Lets see how it goes 🙂

    I go your back, buddy!

    ❤ EF

  2. I just read this, dont hate, at least I’m reading it now. I’ve got your back for the next three days. I’ll juice and veggie with you until Saturday, Jan. 21.

Leave a Reply

 
