Dear All,
I hope this finds you well. I am currently in Haiti working with vulnerable girls throughout the capital of Port -au-Prince. I read this today and could not stop thinking about the girl groups, that I have had the privilege of sitting in on over the course of the last week. I read this and thought about all these young girls.
Thank you for sharing this with me today. I assure you, I will not let any girl leave the circle today without telling her how beautiful she is, not just today but every day!
Love Erzuhlie

The Crunk Feminist Collective

astigmatism: the inability to see clearly

stigma: a mark of disgrace or infamy

-ism: a suffix added to terms to reflect a symptom or ideology

“Sometimes you can’t see yourself clearly until you see yourself through the eyes of others.”

I see you.

You are beautiful and you don’t even know it.

I mean it.

You are!

If no one has told you yet today, consider me the first.

Sometimes just hearing the words can make all the difference in the world.  I know what it feels like when no one tells you that you are beautiful.  I know how powerful those words can become when someone uses them against you… wielding them like a weapon used to keep you in line, threatening to destroy you with the silence that you feel so deep when the words stop being spoken.  “…with your fine self,” …”with your pretty self,” “with your…

View original post 539 more words

~ by travelling womanists on October 25, 2012.

One Response to “”

  1. you are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
