Becoming a Global Citizen: Part 2


Authors Note: Please excuse me for the delay. Our guest blogger, Bianca Monet shares her honest experience of becoming a Global Citizen. Where are you on your path of becoming or embracing global citizenship? What were the challenges and small things that you have started to make this path more difficult or lead you to reconsider this path?

After receiving and accepting the job offer, I returned to the United States, as a part of new South Africa immigration law, to apply for and obtain a work permit. I started this process in July. A process that includes, but not limited to, fingerprinting (I’ve gotten fingerprinted in South Africa and locally and federally in the States), statements from my further employer, medical and radiology examinations, and South Africa educational equivalent certificate stating my education is legitimate. The last piece of paper that is required is a letter from the South Africa’s Department of Labour. This letter will confirm the job offer is in consistent with South African standards, the org is real and righteous; I’m qualified; and there is no other South African who can fill this position. This process takes 20 to 30 days to complete; for the South African Department of Labour uses this time to actually locate another candidate. If they are successful, my further employer has to evaluate the candidate. This letter and this process makes me cry. Daily. On the street. On the train. At dinner.

I am one email away from realizing my dreams, personal and professional. This is frustrating and painful. But there are other reasons I cry. I cry because I’m stuck. This form of transformation/transition means my life is on hold. I can’t date. I can’t work (and earn money). I can’t make any plans longer than a week out. This year I even struggled making birthday plans. My birthday, the only holiday I celebrate, is usually the highlight of my year. But the planning and re-planning was sad and disappointing. Fortunately though I had a perfect evening with friends who brought me to more tears, of course, as they filled the celebration with words of love, encouragement, and support. But this is rare. Which brings me to another reason I cry. This transition phrase has ended and questioned many a relationship. In the past 2 months my most intimate relationships have ended. Blown the fuck up. People have out right said they don’t support moving to Africa while others slyly ask, “Its taking so long, do you really think it’s for you?” Other “friends” have just been mission in action. Thankfully others have offered their couches and shoulders for me to lay and cry.

I often have to explain to people that this process, although new to me, is simply compared to when my African comrades try to visit, study, or work in the U.S. I have friends who had to wait for 2 years to get a visa to study in this country. So I try to stay humble and patient. Furthermore, I’m going through this because even with these moments of discomfort, my soul is fed in South Africa. I thrive off of the adventure and the possibilities of each day.

I don’t have the desire to obtain a corporate card or trigger exploration only during my 10 days of vacation. I like waking up not knowing what my work day will bring. I’m all about the discovery. I am not a mundane, do-what-others-do kinda chick. And simply, I listen to myself and my self says, “Bianca be in the world!”

~ by travelling womanists on December 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
