Another Side of Haiti


Once again Jerry Rosembert Moise does not disappoint. His work tells current stories and amazing visualization on the streets of Port au Prince. ©Lodz Joseph

Once again Jerry Rosembert Moise does not disappoint. His work tells current stories and amazing visualization on the streets of Port au Prince. ©Lodz Joseph

I was really looking for weeks to pitch a story about the other side of Haiti. Not the earthquake, tents, voodoo, or debilitating health piece, rather a real  tourist piece. At this point, I have no takers, but I hope that after you see these pictures, you want to know more about Haiti.

There are a lot of things that Haiti is not, but the media bombards us with what Haiti is: AIDS, Voodoo, Poor, Dirty, and victims. And, sometimes, as I read these articles and stories I wonder when will Haiti be shown as the Haiti I know. The place that accepts me and brings my emotional and spiritual gas tank back to full.  Haiti is one of the most transformative places where I have lived and where I continue to work.

I saw this video  from Mikaben and thought now it is time to share a few of my photos. I have a few stories that I want to share with you over the next few days, but I hope you enjoy the photos of the Haiti that I know. It isn’t the place that is in the news, but it does exist.

 

 

 

Look at the those eyes! RAM + Day of the Dead = Good Times! ©Lodz Joseph

Look at the those eyes! RAM + Day of the Dead = Good Times! ©Lodz Joseph

I LOVE Port Salut! ©Lodz Joseph

I LOVE Port Salut! ©Lodz Joseph

The only beer to have in Haiti is Prestige! © Lodz Joseph

The only beer to have in Haiti is Prestige! © Lodz Joseph

Did you know there were caves in Haiti? ©Lodz Joseph

Did you know there were caves in Haiti? ©Lodz Joseph

A sunset in Port Salut ©Lodz Joseph

A sunset in Port Salut ©Lodz Joseph

Lobster and avocado on the  beach. ©Lodz Joseph

Lobster and avocado on the beach. ©Lodz Joseph

Mountains behind Mountains ©Lodz Joseph

Mountains behind Mountains ©Lodz Joseph

You want a piece of this! Douce Macosse from Ludy (ask for her in Ti Goave) ©Lodz Joseph

You want a piece of this! Douce Macosse from Ludy (ask for her in Ti Goave) ©Lodz Joseph

I love Barbershops in Haiti! ©Lodz Joseph

I love barbershops in Haiti! ©Lodz Joseph

Visit the artists and artistans in Croix des Bouquets! ©Lodz Joseph

Visit the artists and artisans in Croix des Bouquets! ©Lodz Joseph

Give this artist a chance! One of the few doing metal and beading.

Give this artist a chance! One of the few doing metal and beading.

~ by travelling womanists on December 11, 2012.

2 Responses to “Another Side of Haiti”

  1. Great photos, Lodz! Lovely post

  2. I love it, I so look forward to experiencing what you did in Port Salut.

Leave a comment